In a context marked by ever-increasing humanitarian, climatic and health challenges, PIROI has set itself an ambitious target: that of reducing the impact of natural hazard-related disasters, health crises, and climate change for south-west Indian Ocean communities.

The programme that was established is the result of joint discussions with all PIROI members and aims to improve the quality of assistance provided to vulnerable communities. Implementing this strategy is part of the regional cooperation efforts PIROI and its partners have been undertaking for the past 22 years.

This strategic framework takes into account the achievements of PIROI’s 2017–2020 plan of action, and is integrated into the Movement’s various strategies for the next period, including its strategic commitments for 2030 and FRC’s 2021–2025 international strategy, as well as the International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies’ “Strategy 2030”.

PIROI’s 2021–2025 strategic framework focuses on four areas:

Goal 1

Disaster risk management stakeholders have better knowledge and expertise of risks related to natural hazards, health crises, and climate change

Goal 2

Disaster risk management stakeholders capacities are strengthened to manage risks related to natural hazards, health crises, and climate change

Goal 3

People of the south-west Indian Ocean are well-informed, more resilient, and better prepared to face the risks related to natural hazards, health crises, and climate change

Goal 4

Communities affected by natural disasters and health crisis have access to emergency assistance that meets their priority needs

PIROI will focus on an enabling action in order to implement its 2021–2025 strategy, namely creating the PIROI Center: a regional centre for expertise, training and innovation. This project will help PIROI to be responsive to the ever-changing development of its activities, and to face the growing challenges of disaster risk management in the region.

 

To stay informed of PIROI’s regional disaster risk management programme, complete the form below.

Sélectionner une page

Dans un contexte marqué par des enjeux humanitaires, climatiques et sanitaires toujours plus importants, la PIROI s’est fixée une mission ambitieuse qui consiste à réduire l’impact des catastrophes liées aux aléas naturels, aux crises sanitaires et aux changements climatiques sur les populations du Sud-Ouest de l’océan Indien.

La programmation qui a été définie est le fruit d’une réflexion commune menée avec l’ensemble des membres de la Plateforme dans l’objectif d’améliorer la qualité de l’aide apportée aux personnes vulnérables. La mise en œuvre de cette stratégie s’inscrit dans une dynamique de coopération régionale portée par la PIROI et ses partenaires depuis 22 ans.

Ce cadre stratégique prend en compte les réalisations du plan d’action 2017-2020 de la PIROI et s’intègre aux différentes stratégies du Mouvement pour la prochaine période, notamment les engagements stratégiques 2030 et la stratégie internationale 2021-2025 de la Croix-Rouge française, ainsi que la stratégie 2030 de la Fédération Internationale des Sociétés de la Croix-Rouge et du Croissant-Rouge.

Le cadre stratégique 2021-2025 s’articule autour de quatre axes :

Axe 1

Les connaissances et compétences des acteurs de la gestion des risques de catastrophes sont améliorées concernant les risques liés aux aléas naturels, aux crises sanitaires et aux changements climatiques.

Axe 2

Les capacités des acteurs de la gestion des risques de catastrophes sont renforcées en matière de gestion des risques liés aux aléas naturels, aux crises sanitaires et aux changements climatiques.

Axe 3

Les populations du Sud-Ouest de l’océan Indien sont mieux informées, résilientes et préparées face aux risques liés aux aléas naturels, aux crises sanitaires et aux changements climatiques.

Axe 4

Les populations affectées par une catastrophe liée aux aléas naturels et aux crises sanitaires ont accès à une aide d’urgence répondant à leurs besoins prioritaires.

Pour mettre en œuvre sa stratégie sur la période 2021-2025, la PIROI s’appuiera sur une action facilitatrice : le développement du PIROI Center, un Centre régional d’expertise, de formation et d’innovation. Ce projet permettra de répondre à l’évolution constante des activités de la PIROI et faire face aux défis grandissants de la gestion des risques de catastrophes dans la région.

 

 

 

Pour continuer de suivre les actualités du programme régional de gestion des risques de catastrophes de la PIROI, complétez le formulaire ci-dessous.