In order to familiarise the Comoros islands’ population with first aid, the French Red Cross and the Global First Aid Reference Centre (GFARC) of the International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent societies (IFRC) organised training for Comorian Red Crescent first aid trainers on 9–21 May 2022.

Comoros Red Crescent is strengthening its capacity to provide first aid training as part of its commitment to protecting the local population and reducing risks. Four training courses were organised in Moroni, aimed at teaching volunteers how to design and teach first-aid courses for the general public. A total of 36 participants – 16 from Moroni, 12 from Anjouan and 8 from Moheli – were trained to introduce first aid to the communities of their respective islands.

The French Red Cross, which has been present in the Union of the Comoros for the past 22 years, actively supports Comoros Red Crescent through projects aimed at improving the living conditions of vulnerable populations. In order to reduce the impact of disasters related to natural hazards and health crises, PIROI also supports Comoros Red Crescent in its disaster preparedness and response activities.

This training course was organised as part of the Indian Ocean Commission’s Resilience Building and Disaster Response Management regional programme, with financial support from the European Union.

To stay informed of PIROI’s regional disaster risk management programme, complete the form below.

Sélectionner une page

Afin d’initier la population comorienne aux gestes de premiers secours, une formation de formateurs du Croissant-Rouge comorien a été organisée du 09 au 21 mai 2022 par la Croix-Rouge française et le Centre Mondial de Référence des Premiers Secours (CMRPS) de la Fédération Internationale des Sociétés de la Croix-Rouge et du Croissant-Rouge (FICR).

Engagé dans la protection des populations et la prévention aux premiers secours, le Croissant-Rouge comorien renforce ses capacités dédiées à la formation en secourisme. Quatre formations ont été organisées à Moroni dans l’objectif d’apprendre aux volontaires à concevoir et animer des formations aux premiers secours à destination du grand public. Au total, 36 participants – 16 de Moroni, 12 d’Anjouan et 8 de Mohéli – ont été formés pour initier les communautés de leur île respective aux premiers secours.

La Croix-Rouge française, présente en Union des Comores depuis 22 ans, appuie le Croissant-Rouge comorien grâce à des projets visant à améliorer les conditions de vie des populations vulnérables. Afin de réduire l’impact des catastrophes liées aux aléas naturels et aux crises sanitaires, la PIROI soutient également le Croissant-Rouge comorien dans ses activités de préparation et de réponse aux catastrophes.

Cette formation est organisée dans le cadre du programme régional de renforcement de la résilience et gestion de la réponse aux catastrophes de la Commission de l’océan Indien, avec le soutien financier de l’Union européenne.

Pour continuer de suivre les actualités du programme régional de gestion des risques de catastrophes de la PIROI, complétez le formulaire ci-dessous.