CHALANE was the 4th system of the 2020-2021 south-west Indian Ocean cyclone season to be monitored by the region’s weather services. It posed a potentially serious threat to several nearby countries, leading to immediate mobilisation by PIROI and its partners.

After forming into a tropical depression on 23 December 2020, it then strengthened to become a tropical storm. CHALANE made landfall in Madagascar, north of Toamasina, during the night of 26 to 27 December as a tropical depression, bringing strong winds and rainfall. It then weakened as it crossed Madagascar from east to west. On leaving the Malagasy coast CHALANE again strengthened into a strong tropical storm, before hitting land in the district of Muanza, north of Beira City in Mozambique’s Sofala province, during the early hours of 30 December. According to Mozambique’s National Institute of Meteorology (INAM) it caused strong winds and heavy rain.

The storm then tracked inland across central Mozambique, weakening into a low pressure system and arriving in Zimbabwe later on 30 December. In response to Météo France weather forecasts, PIROI mobilised its partners and contacted its partners from 20 December onwards.

Once Météo France services started monitoring CHALANE, PIROI became fully engaged in coordinating Madagascar Red Cross, IFRC, and partner National Societies (German and Luxembourg Red Cross Societies), organising preparedness activities such as pre-positioning equipment, mobilising team members, and alerting the local population.

Madagascar :

Immediate mobilisation by PIROI, IFRC, and their partners helped implement preparedness activities including:

  • Developing a prevention framework, through activation of the crisis modifier[1] of a project to strengthen local disaster preparedness and response capacities implemented with the support of DG ECHO
  • Proactive community awareness raising: 161 Malagasy Red Cross volunteers were mobilised for early warning activities among the local population in 7 districts of the 3 regions concerned
  • Preparing volunteers for emergency assessments
  • Logistical preparing through pre-positioning of water, sanitation and hygiene kits, as well as shelter kits and cooking kits for 500 households in three priority regions (Antalaha, Toamasina and Maroantsetra). Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, personal protective equipment (PPE) was also needed for the volunteers in these regions

According to the assessments carried out by Madagascar Red Cross (MRC), who were working with local authorities, Storm CHALANE did not have a significant impact on the region (a number of families were displaced, flooding occurred in some areas, etc.).

[1] A crisis modifier is a financial provision mechanism that provides flexibility and adaptability to context, thereby allowing rapid response to an anticipated or ongoing crisis in order to meet the most urgent humanitarian needs for a fixed period of time.

Mozambique :

Meanwhile Mozambique Red Cross (CVM) liaised with the authorities and triggered its Early Action Protocol (EAP)[1] for Cyclones, in coordination with the IFRC and German Red Cross. The EAP is activated on the basis of a risk analysis, and takes into account several criteria including vulnerability to wind and rain.

The protocol enabled the following activities to be undertaken:

  • Mobilising specialised team members (in Zambezia province) before the cyclone hit
  • Training 1,500 households in home-strengthening techniques (roofs and walls)
  • Awareness raising about the measures announced by weather services and water management authorities in Sofala, Zambezia, Inhambane and Manica provinces
  • Mobilising more than 50 volunteers in Buzi district (Sofala province) to carry out early action activities
  • Transfer and mobilisation of non-food items from the warehouse in Caia to Buzi district
  • Provision of shelter and personal protection kits to 1,500 families. These kits contain tarpaulins, nails, 1 saw, 1 hammer, 1 pair of pliers, nylon rope, buckets, etc.

[1] The Early Action Protocol (EAP) for Cyclones was developed in partnership with the German Red Cross (GRC) and with technical consultations from the National Institute of Disaster Management (INGC), the National Meteorological Institute (INAM), and the National Directorate of Water Resource Management (DNGRH). The actions anticipated in this EAP were defined based on extensive research and consultation with stakeholders at the national, provincial, district and community level in zones at high risk of cyclones.

According to the latest reports from Mozambique Red Cross, Beira did not suffer any major damage.

The regions of Sofala province affected by CHALANE (Dondo, Beira City, and Buzi) are areas that had already been struck by Cyclone IDAI in March 2019. Some minor damage was reported there, in particular at resettlement sites where people displaced by Cyclone Idai were staying in temporary shelters.

When questioned, local inhabitants mentioned the role that Cyclone IDAI played in raising awareness about the importance of proactive disaster preparation. Beira City thus seemed to be better prepared for the arrival of the cyclone: many homes and businesses had reinforced their windows etc.

Storm CHALANE – which could have been devastating for Indian Ocean territories – highlights the importance of strengthening population resilience and disaster preparedness, both of which are priority goals in PIROI’s regional programme. For this reason PIROI is currently closely monitoring the development of Severe Tropical Storm DANILO, in order to initiate preparedness measures if the latter gains strength and threatens inhabited land.

 

libero. ut risus eget elit. mattis fringilla non libero libero eleifend ante.

La Tempête tropicale CHALANE, 4ème système suivi de la saison cyclonique 2020/2021 dans la zone, a fortement menacé plusieurs pays du Sud-Ouest de l’océan indien, engendrant une mobilisation immédiate de la PIROI et de ses partenaires.

Après avoir atteint le stade de dépression tropicale le 23 décembre 2020, le système s’est renforcé pour devenir une tempête tropicale. Cette dernière a touché terre à Madagascar dans la nuit du 26 au 27 décembre, au Nord de Toamasina au stade de dépression tropicale, apportant de forts vents et des pluies. Chalane a continué à s’affaiblir en traversant Madagascar d’Est en Ouest. En quittant Madagascar, CHALANE s’est à nouveau intensifiée en forte tempête tropicale, avant de toucher terre dans le district de Muanza, au nord de Beira City, dans la province de Sofala au Mozambique, aux premières heures du 30 décembre, générant alors de forts vents et fortes pluies, selon l’Institut national de météorologie du Mozambique (INAM).

Depuis, la tempête a traversé le centre du Mozambique, s’affaiblissant en une dépression sur terre, jusqu’à arriver au Zimbabwe le 30 décembre. Suite aux premières prévisions de Météo-France, dès le 20 décembre, la PIROI a mobilisé ses partenaires et contacté ses partenaires.

Après le début du suivi par Météo-France, la PIROI s’est pleinement investi dans la coordination entre la Croix-Rouge de Madagascar, la FICR et les sociétés nationale partenaires (CR allemande et CR Luxembourgeoise) pour mettre en place des actions de préparation telles que le pré-positionnement de matériel, la mobilisation d’équipiers, ou encore l’alerte des populations.

Madagascar :

La mobilisation immédiate de la PIROI, de la FICR et de ses partenaires a permis la mise en place d’actions de préparation, parmi lesquelles :

  • La mise en place d’un dispositif préventif, grâce à l’activation du crisis modifier[1] du projet de renforcement des capacités locales de préparation et de réponse aux catastrophes, mis en œuvre avec le soutien de la DG ECHO ;
  • La sensibilisation des communautés en amont :  161 volontaires de la Croix-Rouge malgache ont été mobilisés pour des activités d’alerte précoce auprès de la population des 7 districts de 3 régions concernées ;
  • La préparation des volontaires aux évaluations d’urgence ;
  • La préparation logistique par le pré-positionnement de kits Eau, Hygiène et Assainissement, kits Abris et kits Cuisine pour 500 ménages dans les trois régions cibles (Antalaha, Tamatave et Maroantsetra) et d’Equipements de protection individuelle (EPI) pour les volontaires de ces régions, intervenant dans un contexte de pandémie de COVID-19

Selon les évaluations menées par la Croix-Rouge malgache (CRM), en lien avec les autorités, la tempête CHALANE n’a pas eu d’impacts significatifs sur le territoire (quelques familles ont été déplacées, quelques zones inondées, …).

[1] Le crisis modifier (modificateur de crise) est un mécanisme de financement qui autorise une certaine de souplesse et adaptabilité au contexte, permettant ainsi de réagir rapidement à une crise anticipée ou observée pour répondre aux besoins humanitaires les plus urgents et pendant une durée déterminée.

Mozambique :

En parallèle, la Croix-Rouge du Mozambique (CVM) s’est coordonnée avec les autorités et a activé son Protocole d’action précoce (PAE)[1] contre les cyclones, en coordination avec la FICR et la Croix-Rouge allemande. Le PAE est activé en se basant sur une analyse des risques prenant en compte plusieurs critères, dont la vulnérabilité aux vents et aux pluies.

Ce protocole a permis la mise en œuvre des activités suivantes :

  • Mobilisation d’équipiers spécialisés (dans la province de Zambèze) avant le passage du cyclone ;
  • Formation de 1500 ménages aux techniques de renforcement des maisons (toit et mur) ;
  • Sensibilisation aux mesures annoncées par les services météorologiques et les autorités responsables de l’eau à Sofala, Zambèze, Inhambane et Manica ;
  • Mobilisation de plus de 50 volontaires du district de Buzi (dans la province de Sofala) pour mener à bien les activités d’action précoce ;
  • Transfert et mobilisation des produits non alimentaires de l’entrepôt de Caia vers le district de Buzi ;
  • Mise à disposition des kits abris et de protection individuelle au bénéfice de 1.500 familles. Ces kits contiennent des bâches, des clous, 1 scie, 1 marteau, 1 pince, de la corde en en nylon, des seaux, etc.

[1] Le Protocole d’action précoce (PAE) contre les cyclones a été élaboré en partenariat avec la Croix-Rouge allemande (GRC) et avec les consultations techniques de l’Institut national de gestion des catastrophes (INGC), de l’Institut météorologique national (INAM) et de la Direction nationale de la gestion des ressources en eau (DNGRH). Les actions prévues dans ce PAE ont été définies sur la base de recherches approfondies et de consultations avec les parties prenantes au niveau national, provincial, du district et de la communauté dans les zones à haut risque de cyclones.

Selon les derniers rapports de la Croix-Rouge du Mozambique, Beira n’a pas subi de dommages importants.

Les régions de la province de Sofala touchées par CHALANE (Dondo, Beira City et Buzi) sont des régions qui ont été frappées par le cyclone IDAI en mars 2019. Certains dégâts mineurs ont été signalés, notamment dans les sites de réinstallation où les personnes déplacées par le cyclone Idai logeaient dans des abris temporaires.

Les habitants interrogés ont mentionné le rôle qu’a joué le cyclone IDAI dans la prise de conscience de l’importance de se préparer aux catastrophes en amont. Aussi, il semble que la ville de Beira était mieux préparée à l’arrivée du cyclone : beaucoup de bâtiments commerciaux et de maisons avaient renforcé leurs fenêtres, etc.

Le système CHALANE, qui aurait pu être dévastateur pour les territoires de l’océan Indien, rappelle l’importance de la préparation aux catastrophes et du renforcement de la résilience des populations, objectifs prioritaires du programme régional de la PIROI. Dans ce cadre, la PIROI suit de près les évolutions de la forte tempête tropicale DANILO, afin de mettre en œuvre des activités de préparation si cette dernière en vient à s’intensifier et menacer les terres habitées.
porta. quis eget ut in commodo et, Donec nunc